top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Dang

c'est la vie

Whilst I'm in the midst of building my own website, I've left writing, in English no less, in the dust. And what a shame when I used to write under my own name and under others in words, gifs (if it was a university publication) and prose.


Law school has done a number on me in many ways than I can count. Many have been positive and with few negatives. The best thing law school ever taught me was that I didn't want to practice law - or rather I didn't want to practice law immediately. A bit of history about me, I took a gross amount of English units in my final years of high school and tightening the noose I was twisting for myself when I dropped Design and Technology (one of my beloved subjects) to compensate my over compensation of English and Science units. Two moments changed my life in the span of a week in 2014 after the first round of semester one exams had taken place so we were all well and truly in year 12 at that point. The first, was an interaction late one afternoon as I was walking to the buses having studied a couple of hours in the library. Fittingly Mr Quentin Watson, my old year 7 English teacher, rounds the corner and asks me how I'm liking the new English course on Gothic Writing. I love it obviously because I am angsty at the time. And then asks me why I've not enrolled into extension courses in English. I am taken back to my days in kindergarten to year 2 (at least) when I was in ESL. English as a Second Language. It's funny now that I remember it as all my classmates were the Asians in the white majority primary school and suburb where I lived in a cozy bubble of Vietnamese. I digress.


Language is funny like that. When I search for my motivations on entering law school it is part prestige and also some imputable child-like eye for an eye mentality. If words could hurt they could also protect and prosecute. And that was the rabbit hole I fell into and the subsequent reason why this is an ongoing internal monologue. I slowly lost the art of tactile communication such as experiences when you sew, coded or took a photograph. Law school was reading until your eyes were dry and cross-eyed but I loved the discipline, the content and the lawyer's eye. Which leads me into my second revelatory moment in my then short 17 years of life. My Design and Technology teacher Mrs. Malouf comes knocking at my morning roll call and requests me for a chat in the hallway. She was babetown if babetown were a older, sassy, and no bull sh*t kind of lady. When we took a stroll down the cohort corridor she asked me to rethink or rather ponder a little more on dropping Design because it wasn't like physics (HSC level) where you memorised theorems and route learned slabs of the textbook. But it was pure autonomy, the scope was at my whims. But I didn't knowing in my mind that it was calculated to play the game perhaps at the expense of the player but a means to an end.


And here I am, a slight toe into the technology world with my internship at AWS. Looking back at the haphazard, mess yet workable html of my 18 y/o self. And virtually revisiting moments in my life on this blog but also wild goose chases and dredging up old emails to get into my 13y/o Tumblr, Blogger and FictionPress. All that is buried but doggy eared at the corners for another day I'm feeling as nostalgic.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Personal Analytics.

Saw this article: https://www.technologyreview.com/2013/05/03/16109/the-data-made-me-do-it/ whilst looking into some big data trends and...

Design Thinking the Lawyer

https://rethinking.legal/designing-lawyers-down-from-the-ivory-tower-6c336c634fe When I found this Medium piece, I immediately sent it to...

Comments


0
bottom of page